Statements

Breadcrumb trail

Need Help or want to give your feedback?

Whether you’re having trouble with your account, or would like to make a suggestion, Canadian Blood Services offers you quick and convenient options to troubleshoot or get in touch. Contact us via live chat, consult our FAQ, send an email feedback@blood.ca, or give us a call at 1 888 2 DONATE (1-888-236-6283).

Letter to the editor of Maclean’s in response to “A bloody mess: The story behind paid plasma in Canada” as published on Nov. 22, 2017

Having spent the last two decades rebuilding Canada’s blood system and regaining the trust of Canadians in this critical part of the health fabric of the country, Canadian Blood Services feels compelled to respond to Anne Kingston’s article. While the article delves into many aspects of the complex world of plasma collections, it also contains statements that are inaccurate and unsubstantiated, not the least of which is the assertion that our organization has attempted to intimidate the regulator. This is untrue, not supported by the record, and fails to recognize the necessity of ongoing dialogue between blood system operator and regulator on matters of crucial interest to Canadians.

Canadian Blood Services was founded in 1998 to manage the national supply of blood, blood products and stem cells, and related services for all the provinces and territories (excluding Quebec), based on recommendations from the Krever Report on the tainted blood scandal. We put patients first, and are dedicated to improving patient outcomes through the manufacturing and delivery of safe, relevant, quality products and services to Canadians. I am writing today to clarify the role and perspective of Canadian Blood Services in the public debate on the emergence of commercial, for-profit plasma collection companies in Canada.

Canadian Blood Services has always monitored and managed plasma in Canada, which includes both safety and the security of supply. In 2004, we consulted with experts, governments, patient groups and other key stakeholders and determined that we would meet 100 per cent of patient need for intravenous immune globulins (Ig), the plasma protein products or plasma-derived drug in highest demand by patients, by collecting 40 per cent of the raw plasma needed to make plasma protein products, with the remaining 60 per cent of Ig demand met through finished drugs purchased from the international pharmaceutical industry (largely from the U.S.). In the years that followed, we determined Canada could safely lower the sufficiency target. However, recent increases in demand, coupled with the newly emerging threats to the global supply of plasma, have resulted in the need to bring the country’s sufficiency to a recommended 50 per cent. This approach balances the risk of a supply interruption with affordability of products, and provides some geographic redundancy. While it is true that the safety of plasma protein products was a concern in the 1980s and before, this has not been an area of concern since the modernization of fractionation and purification processes. 

Over the years, the security of supply issue has been erroneously confused with the safety of plasma protein products made from raw plasma from paid donors. Canadian Blood Services has clearly stated that plasma protein products derived from remunerated plasma donors do not present a safety issue. There is no evidence that the level of safety of plasma protein products made from paid donors versus unpaid donors, differs. In addition to screening donors and thoroughly testing plasma, there are multiple steps built into the fractionation process known as inactivation steps and purification steps; the plasma products are rendered free of pathogens. Ultimately, plasma protein products are exceedingly safe, a fact that patient organizations themselves believe and support. This is the evidence-based position we have consistently shared with our funders and regulator. Indicating otherwise is misleading and misguided, especially given the thousands of patients in Canada who rely on life-saving and life-sustaining plasma-derived drugs. Not only is fostering panic over unfounded safety concerns potentially devastating to patients, it also introduces unnecessary confusion into the debate. That said, and consistent with the principles to which Canadian Blood Services has consistently held itself, we do not intend to pay plasma donors in our system.

Long-term security of the plasma supply for Ig can only be achieved through increased plasma collection by the publicly funded and publicly accountable not-for-profit blood system we operate on behalf of Canadians. Commercial plasma collectors are not bound to keep the products they collect from Canadians for use by Canadians; they can sell their products on the open market to the highest international bidder. For-profit companies also have no responsibility to consider the impact of paid plasma donations on the unpaid blood donor base. There is evidence internationally, not just in Canada, that when the for-profit, paid plasma systems expand rapidly, it can reduce the ability of the not-for-profit blood industry to meet its blood collection targets. In Hungary, for example, the expansion of for-profit, remunerated plasma collection entities has substantially affected the public blood operator’s ability to collect blood in that country (up to a 20 percent decline in blood donations). Even in more established markets, such as the United States, concerns are being raised that the significant expansion of for-profit paid plasma collection sites is impacting the non-remunerated blood operators’ ability to maintain market penetration. While Canadian Blood Services can likely manage the local challenges brought about by the presence of one or two for-profit clinics, it is the emergence of additional for-profit plasma collection sites, particularly larger-scale operations, that is of concern.

As the stewards of Canada’s blood system, we work with all levels of governments, patient organizations, suppliers, global experts, our counterparts in other countries and all other stakeholders within our evidence-based and risk-based decision-making framework in a transparent manner. As we manage the plasma protein product formulary for Canada, we meet with all potential players in the system. Canadian Plasma Resources did approach Canadian Blood Services. We have aimed to understand their business plan and have determined that their interests do not align with ours or with achieving domestic security of supply.
 
Canadian Blood Services shared an ambitious plan with governments almost one year ago, outlining how we will ensure a safe and secure supply of plasma needed to manufacture plasma protein products for Canadian patients by owning the infrastructure – starting with the collection of raw plasma and ending with securing access to plasma protein products for Canadian patients. The plan provides a roadmap for significantly increasing the amount of plasma we collect from Canadian donors, as per our voluntary, non-remunerated (unpaid), publicly funded collections model.  At the conference of provincial and territorial health ministers in Edmonton in October 2017, “there was consensus that immediate action is needed to improve and expand domestic plasma collection,” as noted in a news release issued by ministers. We look forward to the report from Health Canada’s Expert Panel on Immune Globulin Product Supply and Related Impacts in Canada, and to governments’ response to our plan. Canadians rely on our system to supply them with the blood and blood products that they need, and we must work together in their best interest.

Sincerely,

Dr. Graham Sher
Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Blood Services

For more information on plasma, please visit our website.
For more information on our plans to ensure a safe a secure supply of plasma, please see our statement.

Déclarations

Breadcrumb trail

Vous avez besoin d’aide ou souhaitez nous faire part de vos commentaires?

Vous avez des soucis avec votre compte ou souhaitez faire une suggestion? La Société canadienne du sang vous offre plusieurs moyens pratiques et rapides pour résoudre vos problèmes et communiquer avec nous : vous pouvez clavarder avec nous en direct, consulter notre foire aux questions, nous envoyer un courriel à feedback@blood.ca, ou encore nous appeler au 1 866 JE DONNE (1-866-533-6663).

Lettre à la rédaction de Maclean’s en réponse à l’article « A bloody mess: The story behind paid plasma in Canada » publié le 22 novembre 2017

Ayant consacré les vingt dernières années à rebâtir le système d’approvisionnement en sang et à regagner la confiance des Canadiens dans ce maillon essentiel de la chaîne de santé du pays, la Société canadienne du sang se sent obligée de répondre à l’article d’Anne Kingston. Bien qu’il creuse de nombreux aspects du monde complexe de la collecte de plasma, l’article contient des énoncés inexacts et non fondés, notamment celui selon lequel notre organisation aurait tenté d’intimider l’autorité de réglementation. Cette affirmation, non corroborée, est fausse et ne tient pas compte du fait que le fournisseur de sang et l’autorité de réglementation doivent maintenir le dialogue sur les questions revêtant un intérêt crucial pour les Canadiens.


La Société canadienne du sang a été créée en 1998 pour gérer l’approvisionnement en sang, en produits sanguins et en cellules souches pour les provinces et les territoires du Canada, sauf le Québec. La gestion des réserves et des services connexes devait se faire selon les recommandations du rapport Krever, déposé dans la foulée de la crise du sang contaminé. Depuis notre création, nous pensons d’abord aux patients; nous travaillons à améliorer les résultats pour les patients en fournissant des produits et des services sûrs, de qualité, et adaptés à leurs besoins. Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour éclaircir notre perspective ainsi que le rôle de la Société canadienne du sang dans le débat public sur l’émergence de sociétés de collecte de plasma à but lucratif au Canada.


La Société canadienne du sang a toujours assuré la gestion du plasma au Canada, ce qui implique aussi bien la sécurité du produit que celle de l’approvisionnement. En 2004, après avoir consulté spécialistes, gouvernements, groupes de patients et autres parties intéressées, nous avons déterminé que nous pourrions répondre entièrement aux besoins en immunoglobulines intraveineuses — la protéine plasmatique, ou produit dérivé du plasma, la plus administrée aux patients — en recueillant 40 pour cent de plasma brut pour fabriquer des protéines plasmatiques; pour les 60 pour cent restants, nous achèterions le produit fini de sociétés pharmaceutiques d’autres pays (principalement les États-Unis). Le pourcentage d’autosuffisance avait été rajusté à la baisse dans les années qui ont suivi, mais comme la demande a récemment augmenté et que l’approvisionnement mondial est confronté à de nouveaux risques, le taux d’autosuffisance recommandé a été ramené à 50 pour cent. Ce pourcentage garantit un équilibre entre le risque d’une interruption de l’approvisionnement et l’abordabilité des produits, tout en assurant une certaine diversité géographique des sources. S’il est vrai que l’innocuité des protéines plasmatiques était un sujet de préoccupation dans les années 80 et avant, ce n’est plus le cas depuis la modernisation des procédés de fractionnement et de purification. 

Au fil des ans, plusieurs ont confondu deux dossiers : la sécurité de l’approvisionnement et la sécurité des protéines plasmatiques faites à partir de plasma brut provenant de donneurs rémunérés. La Société canadienne du sang a clairement indiqué que ces protéines plasmatiques ne représentent pas un danger. Rien ne montre qu’il y a une différence dans l’innocuité des protéines plasmatiques fabriquées à partir du plasma de donneurs rémunérés versus non rémunérés. Outre l’évaluation des donneurs et des analyses poussées, le processus comprend des étapes d’inactivation et de purification qui éliminent toute trace d’agent pathogène. Au bout du compte, les protéines plasmatiques sont extrêmement sûres; les associations de patients elles-mêmes en ont la conviction. Cette position s’appuie sur des données probantes et c’est celle que nous avons toujours exprimée à nos bailleurs de fonds et à l’organisme qui nous réglemente. Dire le contraire est trompeur et mal avisé, surtout compte tenu du fait que des milliers de patients au Canada dépendent de protéines plasmatiques pour rester en vie. Semer la panique en propageant des inquiétudes non fondées sur l’innocuité de ces médicaments risque d’avoir des effets dévastateurs sur les patients. Qui plus est, cela entraîne une confusion inutile dans le débat. Cela dit, conformément au principe que la Société canadienne du sang a toujours respecté, nous n’avons pas l’intention de rémunérer les donneurs qui contribuent à notre système. 

Nous ne pouvons garantir un approvisionnement à long terme en plasma pour la production d’immunoglobulines qu’en augmentant le volume de plasma recueilli grâce au système à but non lucratif, financé par des fonds publics, que nous exploitons au nom des Canadiens et pour lequel nous sommes publiquement tenus de rendre des comptes. Les entreprises commerciales qui collectent du plasma ne sont pas obligées de réserver le plasma qu’elles recueillent aux Canadiens. Elles peuvent librement le vendre au plus offrant ailleurs dans le monde. Ces entreprises n’ont aucune obligation de tenir compte de l’impact du don de plasma rémunéré sur le bassin de donneurs de sang non rémunérés. Sur la scène internationale, pas seulement au Canada, on constate que le développement rapide de la collecte rémunérée de plasma a tendance à empêcher les organismes de collecte de sang non rémunérée à atteindre leurs objectifs. En Hongrie, par exemple, le développement des collectes de plasma à but lucratif a considérablement entravé la capacité du fournisseur de sang public à recueillir du sang (le nombre de dons de sang a baissé de vingt pour cent). Dans les marchés bien établis, comme les États-Unis, des voix commencent à s’élever contre l’expansion considérable des sociétés de collecte de plasma à but lucratif. Cette expansion, disent-elles, complique le recrutement des donneurs pour les organismes qui n’offrent pas de rémunération. Au Canada, si nous pensons pouvoir faire face aux défis que représente l’implantation d’un ou deux centres de collecte à but lucratif, c’est la multiplication de ce genre de centre, en particulier d’établissements de grande envergure, qui nous paraît préoccupante.

En tant que responsables du système d’approvisionnement en sang au Canada, nous travaillons en totale transparence avec les gouvernements, les associations de patients, les fournisseurs, des experts mondiaux, nos homologues étrangers, ainsi que toutes les autres parties intéressées identifiées dans notre cadre décisionnel, lequel est basé sur les risques et les données factuelles. En tant que responsables également de la gestion des protéines plasmatiques, nous communiquons avec tous les acteurs potentiels dans ce domaine. Nous avons été contactés par Canadian Plasma Resources. Après avoir étudié leur stratégie commerciale, nous avons conclu que leurs intérêts ne correspondaient pas aux nôtres et qu’ils n’avaient pas pour but de sécuriser l’approvisionnement en protéines plasmatiques au Canada. 

Il y a près d’un an, la Société canadienne du sang a présenté aux gouvernements un plan ambitieux expliquant que nous pouvons garantir un approvisionnement sûr et durable en plasma pour la fabrication des protéines plasmatiques destinées aux patients Canadiens. Selon ce plan, nous serions responsables de l’ensemble du processus, depuis la collecte du plasma brut jusqu’à la distribution des produits finis, afin d’en garantir l’accès au profit des patients canadiens. Notre plan contient une feuille de route qui permettra d’augmenter de manière substantielle la quantité de plasma que nous recueillons auprès des donneurs canadiens, selon notre modèle de collecte non rémunérée financée par des fonds publics. En octobre 2017, les ministres provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé alors réunis lors d’une conférence, à Edmonton, « [se sont entendus] quant au besoin immédiat de prendre des mesures pour améliorer et augmenter les prélèvements de plasma au pays » (voir communiqué). Nous attendons donc avec impatience la décision des gouvernements concernant notre plan ainsi que le rapport du panel d’experts de Santé Canada sur l’approvisionnement en immunoglobulines et les répercussions connexes au pays. La population canadienne compte sur nous pour lui fournir le sang et les produits sanguins dont elle a besoin et, dans son intérêt, nous nous devons de travailler ensemble.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, mes meilleures salutations.

Le chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du sang,

Dr Graham Sher

Pour plus d’informations sur le plasma, veuillez consulter notre site Web.
Pour plus d’informations sur notre plan visant à sécuriser l’approvisionnement en plasma, veuillez consulter notre déclaration.