Media

Breadcrumb trail

Need Help or want to give your feedback?

Whether you’re having trouble with your account, or would like to make a suggestion, Canadian Blood Services offers you quick and convenient options to troubleshoot or get in touch. Contact us via live chat, consult our FAQ, send an email feedback@blood.ca, or give us a call at 1 888 2 DONATE (1-888-236-6283).

Backgrounder: Kidney Paired Donation program

Key Facts

  • Since January 2009, more than 500 living donors across Canada have shared the gift of life through the national Kidney Paired Donation program, including 90 non-directed (not directed towards a friend or family member) anonymous donors.
  • There are 23 Living Kidney Donation and Transplant Programs involved in the Kidney Paired Donation program across Canada.
  • Non-directed anonymous donors are responsible for more than two-thirds of the transplants in the Kidney Paired Donation program.
  • In the KPD program to date, all patients with a match have received a transplant in less than a year.
  • Before the KPD program, patients could wait for many years before receiving a transplant.
  • Today, the country is working as a whole to find more matches for more patients. Patients have access to a larger pool of donors and each case is given individual attention from the Kidney Transplant Advisory Committee – a national community of experts – until it is closed.
  • Paired exchange is an established practice throughout the world.
  • The participation of all donors and recipients in the Canadian Transplant Registry is completely voluntary. All participants involved are free to withdraw at any time before the donor operations take place.
  • Kidney Paired Donation significantly reduces the time it takes to go to transplant, if a medically suitable match can be found. In comparison, patients on the deceased donation list wait, on average, four to five years.

     

Kidney Paired Donation program

The national Kidney Paired Donation (KPD) program is an interprovincial program that is operated collaboratively between Canadian Blood Services and Canada’s living kidney donation and kidney transplant programs.

Any adult who is in general good health can be assessed to become a living kidney donor. If the donor wishes to donate to a friend or family member, medical assessments are conducted to determine whether the donor is a suitable match for the recipient. With a compatible match, the donation can proceed with the provincial program independently, and the KPD program is not used.

If the donor is not a match for their friend or family member, they may be able to donate through the KPD program.

Why it is important

Unfortunately, there are not enough deceased kidney donations to help everyone who needs a kidney transplant. Patients on the deceased donation wait list can wait, on average, for four or five years and some will never receive a kidney transplant.

How it works

Once the provincial transplant program assesses and qualifies the donor as eligible to donate, the donor must consent to be considered for donation and agree to being listed. Only then does the provincial program enter the donor’s medical information into the Canadian Transplant Registry, a secure computer database managed by Canadian Blood Services. The donor and their specific friend or family member who requires a kidney transplant are “paired.”

When an individual donor enters the program to give anonymously they must be assessed for donation and cleared to enter the KPD donor pool as a non-directed donor (those who do not have a specific friend or family member to pair with but who wish to donate). All donors are given the choice to proceed or withdraw from the process at any time and those wishes are always honoured.

A sophisticated matching program is run against all the pairs including non-directed donors in the registry, to identify potential donor matches that can form pairings or “chains” of donor kidney exchanges. The matching program seeks to match the recipients with a kidney donor for a transplant. 

  • Canadian Blood Services provides the patient listing and matching program that serves transplant programs in Canada.
  • Medical evaluations of patients and all communication with the donor or recipient is conducted directly by the provincial programs supporting the individuals in the pair, respecting the anonymity and privacy of all those involved.

Once matched in a chain, further assessment is required of the donor and recipient.  If a donor or recipient cannot continue to proceed for any reason, the pairings or chains must be re-evaluated. Depending on the circumstances, some or all of the pairings or chains may not proceed to transplant and the donors and recipients may continue to await another matching cycle.

Even when matched, there is no guarantee that the match will lead to a transplant, as issues can occur with any participant in the chain. If a patient’s paired donor donates and the matched recipient does not receive a transplant, the KPD program makes it a priority to continue to search for another match for the patient until a suitable donor can be found.

The Kidney Paired Donation program recognizes the process can be a stressful one for all involved. Each case is taken very seriously and every effort is made to find a match as quickly as possible for all registered recipients. 

Our Role

The national Kidney Paired Donation (KPD) program is operated by Canadian Blood Services in partnership with Canada’s provincial living kidney donation and transplant programs to give living donors another way to help patients receive a kidney transplant.

Canadian Blood Services Donor provincial program Recipient provincial program
Manages the Canadian Transplant Registry for listing and matching living kidney donors with patients in need of a kidney transplant.  Matches pairs. The donor’s local living kidney donation program does all medical evaluations and communicates with the donor.  The recipient’s local transplant program does all medical evaluations and communicates with the recipient.
Plays a coordinating role by facilitating communication between the living kidney donation and transplant programs across the country to keep the evaluations of the matched donors and recipients in the chains moving forward as quickly as possible.  Communicates with the donor regarding his/her status and the progress of the chain of transplants.  Communicates with the recipient regarding his/her status and the progress of the chain of transplants.
In collaboration with the national Kidney Transplant Advisory Committee (which is made up of leading experts in the field from all provincial programs), reviews the progress of all the chains monthly, to ensure continued progress of the chains and that high priority cases receive appropriate attention and follow-up.   Provides information materials for donors. Provides information materials for recipients.

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION

To learn more about the Kidney Paired Donation program or about Canadian Blood Services, contact: 1-877-709-7773
Email: media@blood.ca

Média

Breadcrumb trail

Vous avez besoin d’aide ou souhaitez nous faire part de vos commentaires?

Vous avez des soucis avec votre compte ou souhaitez faire une suggestion? La Société canadienne du sang vous offre plusieurs moyens pratiques et rapides pour résoudre vos problèmes et communiquer avec nous : vous pouvez clavarder avec nous en direct, consulter notre foire aux questions, nous envoyer un courriel à feedback@blood.ca, ou encore nous appeler au 1 866 JE DONNE (1-866-533-6663).

Document d’information : Programme de don croisé de rein

Faits saillants

  • Depuis janvier 2009, 500+ donneurs canadiens vivants ont amélioré la vie de patients grâce au Programme DCR. De ce nombre, 68 ont fait un don non dirigé, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ont donné un rein à une personne qu’ils ne connaissaient pas.
  • Le Programme DCR est associé à 23 programmes de don de reins de donneurs vivants et de transplantation au Canada.
  • On doit les deux tiers des transplantations réalisées dans le cadre du Programme DCR à des donneurs sans receveur désigné.
  • À ce jour, tous les patients inscrits au Programme DCR auxquels on a trouvé un donneur compatible ont reçu un rein en moins d’un an.
  • Avant la création du Programme DCR, les patients pouvaient attendre plusieurs années avant de pouvoir recevoir un nouveau rein.
  • Aujourd’hui, l’ensemble du Canada travaille dans le but de trouver des donneurs compatibles à un plus grand nombre de patients. Le bassin de donneurs s’est élargi et chaque cas bénéficie d’une attention particulière de la part du Comité consultatif sur la transplantation, un comité national de spécialistes, jusqu’à ce qu’un rein soit trouvé.
  • Le don croisé est une pratique bien établie dans de nombreux pays.
  • La participation au Registre canadien de transplantation est entièrement volontaire. Les participants sont libres de s’en retirer à tout moment avant le prélèvement de l’organe.
  • Lorsqu’un donneur compatible est trouvé, le don croisé de rein permet de grandement réduire le temps d’attente avant la transplantation; les patients inscrits sur les listes d’attente de reins de donneurs décédés attendent, en moyenne, quatre à cinq ans.

     

Programme de don croisé de rein

Le Programme de don croisé de rein (DCR) est un programme interprovincial géré conjointement par la Société canadienne du sang et les programmes de don et de transplantation de reins au Canada.

Toute personne majeure en bonne santé peut envisager de donner un rein de son vivant. Avant, des évaluations médicales doivent être réalisées pour déterminer si la personne est compatible avec le destinataire de son don (autrement dit, s’ils forment un couple compatible). Une fois que la compatibilité a été établie, la procédure de don se poursuit avec le programme provincial sans que le Programme DCR n’ait besoin d’intervenir. En cas de non-compatibilité entre le donneur et son receveur désigné, le donneur peut toujours faire don d’un rein dans le cadre du Programme DCR.

Pourquoi ce programme est-il important

Parce qu’il n’y a malheureusement pas suffisamment de reins disponibles provenant de personnes décédés pour répondre aux besoins. Les patients inscrits sur les listes d’attente doivent attendre, en moyenne, entre quatre et cinq ans et certains patients ne trouveront jamais de donneurs.

Fonctionnement

Une fois que le programme provincial de transplantation a évalué une personne et déclaré qu’elle pouvait faire don d’un rein, cette personne doit consentir à devenir un donneur potentiel et à être inscrite sur les listes de donneurs. Ensuite, le programme provincial entre les renseignements médicaux du donneur dans le Registre canadien de transplantation, une base de données informatique sécurisée gérée par la Société canadienne du sang. Enfin, le donneur et son receveur désigné sont « jumelés ».

Lorsqu’une personne n’a pas de receveur désigné et souhaite s’inscrire au Programme DCR pour faire un don anonyme, on procède à une évaluation afin de déterminer si elle peut donner un rein et si elle peut intégrer le bassin de donneurs du Programme DCR comme donneur non désigné. Les donneurs peuvent, s’ils le souhaitent, se retirer du processus à tout moment.

Les couples donneur-receveur ainsi que les donneurs non désignés sont ensuite enregistrés dans un programme informatique sophistiqué qui apparie les receveurs avec des donneurs compatibles. Ces compatibilités potentielles formeront ce que l’on appelle des « chaînes » d’échange de donneurs.

  • La Société canadienne du sang met à la disposition des programmes de transplantation du Canada la liste des patients ainsi que le programme de jumelage.
  • Les évaluations médicales ainsi que la communication avec les donneurs et les receveurs relèvent des programmes provinciaux. L’anonymat et la confidentialité des renseignements personnels sont respectés en tout temps.

Une fois la compatibilité entre un donneur et un receveur établie, d’autres évaluations sont effectuées. Si une personne ne peut plus être envisagée comme donneur ou receveur, pour quelque raison que ce soit, la chaîne de jumelage est recalculée. Selon les circonstances, la totalité ou une partie des transplantations déterminées ne peuvent plus être effectuées, et les donneurs et les receveurs doivent attendre un autre cycle de jumelage.

L’établissement d’une compatibilité ne garantit pas une transplantation, car des imprévus peuvent survenir à tout moment. Lorsqu’un donneur désigné donne un rein à un patient autre que son receveur désigné et que ce dernier ne reçoit aucun rein, le receveur désigné devient une priorité pour le Programme DCR, qui continuera à chercher un donneur compatible pour lui.

Le Programme DCR reconnaît que le processus peut être une source d’angoisse pour toutes les parties impliquées. Chaque cas est pris très au sérieux et tous les efforts sont déployés pour trouver un donneur compatible aux patients inscrits.

Notre rôle

Le Programme DCR est géré conjointement par la Société canadienne du sang et les programmes provinciaux de don et de transplantation. Il constitue un autre moyen pour les donneurs de rein vivants d’aider les patients en attente d’une transplantation.

Société canadienne du sang Programme provincial de don (donneurs) Programme provincial de transplantation (receveurs)
Gère le Registre canadien de transplantation qui permet d’enregistrer les patients en attente d’une greffe de rein et de les jumeler à des donneurs de rein vivants. Le programme local dont relève le donneur est responsable de toutes les évaluations médicales et de la communication avec le donneur. Le programme local dont relève le receveur est responsable de toutes les évaluations médicales et de la communication avec le receveur.
Joue un rôle de coordination en facilitant la communication entre les programmes de don et de transplantation au Canada afin que les évaluations des receveurs et des donneurs jumelés avancent rapidement dans les chaînes. Communique avec le donneur concernant son statut et son évolution dans la chaîne de transplantation. Communique avec le receveur concernant son statut et son évolution dans la chaîne de transplantation.
Chaque mois, en collaboration avec le Comité consultatif sur la transplantation de rein (comité national composé de spécialistes venant des divers programmes provinciaux), évalue chaque chaîne de jumelage afin de s’assurer de sa progression et du suivi effectué pour les cas de haute priorité. Fournit de la documentation au donneur. Fournit de la documentation au receveur.

 

COMPLÉMENT D’INFORMATION

Pour en savoir plus sur le Programme de don croisé de rein ou sur la Société canadienne du sang, appelez au 1-877-709-7773.
Courriel : media@blood.ca